Macallan 1824 Series Revealed

Our Stories May 9, 2013 1 Comment.

Share article:

Macallan 1824Scotch is all about the year. The older, the better (usually). But now Macallan is changing that.


The scotch kings introduced the Macallan 1824 series last week. The series will categorize scotch no longer by year but by color: Gold, Amber, Sienna and Ruby. Meaning that age is no longer a factor.


To us, it seems like an excuse to bottle younger whiskey and sell them at an increased price but Macallan claims it’s a move that will allow them to experiment with different casks and distilling techniques.


What do you think?



One thought on “Macallan 1824 Series Revealed

  1. Pingback: The Mystery Behind Non-Age Stated Whiskies | Drinking in America

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>