tequilaHappy Cinco de Mayo, amigos. Cinco de Mayo and tequila are the ultimate combo so we figured today would be a good time to let you in on a little known fact:


There’s not just one kind of tequila.


Believe it or not, there are actually five different classifications that tequila can fall under:


Tequila Blanco (Silver)

Un-aged and usually bottled as soon as it has been distilled. It is usually called blanco (white), but if it drips from the cooling coils of the alambique, it is called plata (silver).


Tequila Joven (Gold)

This is Tequila Blanco, but with added colorants and flavorings. These additives usually include caramel coloring, oak tree extracts, glycerin, or sugar syrup.


Tequila Reposado

This is the first level of aging for tequila. Reposado means rested and that’s exactly what the tequila needs to do. It’s aged for 2-12 months in an oak barrel.


Tequila Anejo

If the tequila is aged for a minimum of one year, then it becomes Anejo, or “vintage.” These tequilas are normally aged 1-3 years and are darker in color with a more complex flavor.


Tequila Extra Anejo

Yup, you guessed it – this means the tequila has been aged even longer. (Get the hang of it, yet?) To receive this classification, the tequila must be aged for at least three years.


The Mexican government actually oversees the labeling of reposado, anejo and extra anejo, so no one is permitted to lie about the actual age of the tequila.


No matter which tequila you prefer, grab your favorite bottle today and put it to work making some Cinco de Mayo margaritas with your friends – and save one for us.